South Africa

Pictures are to scale: 1 cm is approximately 10 pixels.
If you have any corrections, additions or remarks to any of the plates or their descriptions, please e-mail me.

Apartheid era plates:
CEC = Garies (Cape Province). Pre-1978 style plate, made of embossed plastic with a metal backing.
TP = Pretoria (Transvaal). Pre-1978 plate, made of four parts: The characters are embossed into clear plastic. Above that is the black part with the characters cut out. Behind the clear plastic is a white reflective sheet, showing through the clear characters. And behind all that is a metal backing.
CA = Cape Town (Cape Province). 1978-1996 series.
CWB = Walvis Bay (Cape Province). Until the independence of Namibia (then South West Africa) in 1990, Walvis Bay was a South African exclave.
OV = Parys (Oranje Free State). 1978-1996 series.
ND = Durban (Natal province). 1978-1996 plate style.
1978-1996 Transvaal plate.

Post-apartheid era plates:
1998 onwards Eastern Cape Province plate.
1997 onwards Gauteng Province plate.
1997 onwards KwaZulu-Natal Province plate. ND = Durban. KwaZulu-Natal did not yet introduce a new numbering format, but still uses the old Natal Province codes.
1998 onwards North-West Province plate.
1997 onwards Western Cape Province plate. CY = Bellville, Durbanville, Kraaifonein. Western Cape Province did not yet introduce a new numbering format, but still uses the old Cape Province codes.
1996 onwards diplomatic plate.
Temporary cardboard plate from Gauteng Province, valid around the millenium change.

Back to the country index
Back to Plates.Lachs.Net